The Computer Science program was first established in 1977 as an interdisciplinary program across the Business, Mathematics, and Electrical Engineering departments.  The program, which was administered by the Electrical Engineering Department, first appeared in the UTEP catalog in 1979.  In 1982, the Department of Computer Science was established in the College of Engineering.