UTEP CS receives a $3.9M NSF grant to support students in cyber-security

SFS Slider6

A team of computer science faculty from The University of Texas at El Paso has been awarded a highly competitive $3.9 million Scholarship For Service (SFS) grant from the National Science Foundation and the Department of Homeland Security. The funding will give scholarships to 28 bachelor’s, master’s and Ph.D. computer science students over the next […]

UTEP CS Professor gets Fulbright Scholarship Award

Ward slider 1

Dr. Nigel Ward received a Fulbright Scholarship Award to conduct his research at Kyoto University  on the prosodic and multimodel aspects of dialog behavior across languages.  He will be on Faculty Development Leave until mid-spring. The UTEP CS Department is proud of Dr. Ward’s achievement and thanks him for all his work.

Dr. Ann Gates wins 2015 Great Minds in STEM Education Award

Dr. Gates STEM Award

Professor and Chair of Computer Science Ann Gates, Ph.D., is the recipient of the 2015 Great Minds in STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) Education award. Gates was selected for the honor from about 200 nationwide nominations. Great Minds in STEM, formerly known as the Hispanic Engineer National Achievement Awards Corporation (HENAAC), created the Education […]

NCWIT Extension Services Transformation (NEXT) Awards, UTEP GETS RECOGNIZED


NCWIT’s Extension Services for Undergraduate Programs (ES-UP) provides customized consultation to academic departments to help improve their strategic recruitment and retention of women students in their majors. To recognize the achievements of these outstanding departments, NCWIT has established — with funding from Google.org –the NCWIT Extension Services Transformation (NEXT) Awards. These awards recognize ES-UP client […]