On Thursday, May 25, 2017, Dr. Salamah Salamah, on behalf of UTEP’s CyberCorps® Scholarship for Service (SFS) Program, announced the second class of SFS Scholars:

  1. Adriana Escobar De la Torre, Undergraduate student, Fast-Track MS-Software Engineering
  2. Thomas George, Undergraduate student, Fast-Track MS-Software Engineering
  3. Hector Cervantes, Undergraduate student, Fast-Track MS-Software Engineering
  4. Kristian Villanueva, Graduate student, MS-Software Engineering
  5. Daniel Cervantes, Doctoral student, Phd-Computer Science.

The SFS program, which is supported by a grant from the National Science Foundation and Department of Homeland Security, is  building a stronger U.S. government workforce in the field of cyber-security.  The program is supervised by Drs. Salamah Salamah, Ann Gates, Christopher Kiekintveld, and Luc Longpre.  SFS Scholars receive full-tuition, an annual stipend, and funds for travel and other expenses. In addition, they benefit from participating in specialized training and development in cyber-security.

Congratulations to the Class of Fall 2017 SFS Scholars!

Applications for the SFS program are due in the spring semester.  Deadlines and information on how to apply can be found on the UTEP CS website under the Scholarships submenu.